Saints

O blest communion, fellowship divine!
We feebly struggle, they in glory shine;
yet all are one, in thee for all are thine,
Alleluia, Alleluia! 

All Saints Sunday is always a perfect day to honor the saints who’ve passed on to heaven. The hymns for All Saints Sunday are among the best in the whole church year, and the sermon is typically outstanding. On this day, I  always think of dearly departed loved ones, most especially my beloved grandparents.

I was lucky to grow up in a very small town, very near my paternal grandparents, with my maternal grandmother also within driving distance. As a result of growing up with that kind of proximity, I think of them not only on All Saints, but pretty much every day.

Every cardinal I spot in the yard makes me think of my Grandma Dee. So does walking the dog, seeing an especially pretty garden (peonies in particular), baking cookies at Christmastime, singing hymns, admiring a gorgeous baby and catching a whiff of Estee Lauder Beautiful.

I’m reminded often of my Grandma Betty, someone I saw practically every week of my life from birth to college. I think of her when I cook good old Marcus favorites like taverns and goulash. Or anytime I use catsup, eat Cheerios, watch David Letterman, spot tinsel on a Christmas tree or close a bathroom door all the way.

Grandpa Jim Lott was someone I didn’t know well because he was in poor health by the time I was in kindergarten. Nevertheless, he’s in my thoughts daily, too. He’s our son’s namesake, so there’s that. I think of him when I run, every time I pay a visit to a doctor, when I see a picture of my brother, see a picture of Notre Dame’s campus and as I hang several special Christmas tree ornaments each year.

Today and every day I am thankful for these saints, Dee, Betty and Jim.

I wrote this post on Sunday – and am just getting around to posting it now. So much for an everyday post!

Leave a Reply

